CHP Will Be Honored with Historic Journey Award

The Shiloh Community Restoration Foundation presented its 11th annual Historic Journey Award to the Center for Historic Preservation at an event in Macon County, Alabama, on April 29.  The foundation honored CHP director Dr. Carroll Van West and several current and former graduate students, including Dr. Kristen Baldwin Deathridge, Dr. Abigail Gautreau, Dr. Katie O’Bryan, Torren Gatson, and Leigh Ann Gardner, who is also a former CHP staff member. The Center has worked with the community in Macon County on several projects over the years, including a Multiple Property Submission for the U.S. Public Health Service Syphilis Study, 1932-1973, which was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2010, and a history exhibit for the Shiloh Rosenwald School (shown on the program above). “We were honored when Liz Sims, Edie Powell, and Shirley Johnson in 2007 asked us to help the Project Team preserve and present the story of the Shiloh community to Alabama and the nation,” West has written in response to the award. “We remain privileged and humbled that the Shiloh Community Restoration Foundation has presented us with this very gracious acknowledgment and award. We look forward to future projects and your continued success.” The full program for the event can be found here.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed